Plan Your Overnight Stay:


Land Acknowledgement

We at Horseshoe Resort would like to respectfully acknowledge that we are surrounded by the traditional territory of the Anishnaabeg people.

Situated between many larger lakes such as what is known today as Georgian Bay and Lake Simcoe, and nearby to streams and rivers, this area is a key location for trade, lush natural resources and more. Within the land surrounding Horseshoe Resort, there are a variety of natural habitats for wildlife including marshes, forests, open fields, lakes.

Within the Copeland Forest and Horseshoe Valley, no settlement has been recorded. Although, some Huron-Wendat archaeological discoveries have been recorded. This is due to the wet and low conditions likely making lodging inconvenient.

  • The Williams Treaties were signed in October and November 1923 by the governments of Canada and Ontario and by seven First Nations of the Chippewa of Lake Simcoe (Beausoleil, Georgina Island and Rama) and the Mississauga of the north shore of Lake Ontario (Alderville, Curve Lake, Hiawatha and Scugog Island). Learn About Huron-Wendat Nation

Together, we honour all Indigenous peoples.

We honour First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples for their cultures, their languages, their wise teachings and ways of being, their stewardship and protection of the lands and waters – and life – that have shaped this country.

  • This region is first known to be the territory of five Iroquois nations including Attinniaoenten (“people of the bear”), Hatingeennonniahak (“makers of cords for nets”),
    Arendaenronnon (“people of the lying rock”), Atahontaenrat (“two white ears” i.e., “deer people”) and Ataronchronon (“people of the bog”). These Indigenous people, despite their lineage from different nations, all speak the Haudenosaunee language. As these regions were pushed further South in the province (to what is now known as Six Nations after the joining of the Tuscarora peoples in 1722), the Anishnaabeg of the North settled in the Simcoe County area. The Anishnaabeg were well-known for their fur trading. 
  • The Anishnaabeg are comprised of the Three Fire Confederacy Algonquin nations. This includes the Odawa, Ojibwe/Chippewa, and Pottawatomi peoples. This large nation is sometimes synonymously identified as Ojibwe, but Anishnaabe also refers to the larger group that includes all three nations. The Anishnaabeg nations located in this area are the descendants of the three nations once situated on the Coldwater-Narrows reserve. They are now known as the Chippewa Tri-Council. Learn more about the Coldwater-Narrows Reservation Surrender Claim.

We are grateful to be here. We hope you are too.

Together, we commit to acknowledge, to learn, to create opportunity to honour sacred places, and to take actions toward Truth and Reconciliation in support of our commitment to wellness for all, and to walking the path together in respect, peace and harmony for future generations. In an effort to respect the land on which Horseshoe Resort operates, our team works alongside advocates of Copeland Forest Friends. We support the Peoples Gallery, opening Spring 2023 at the Simcoe County Museum for the public education of Indigenous stories, history and continued stewardship. 

G’chi miigwech. Thank you very much.


We share this acknowledgement with the knowledge that we still have a lot of learning to do and welcome your support to grow, learn and educate ourselves together.